Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maddielee49

Chalk paint for furniture?

maddielee
12 years ago

Anyone have any knowledge about chalk paint? A local shop has started carrying a chalk paint by Annie Sloan and are offering classes in its use.

It sounds interesting...but I have no knowledge. Anyone have any experiemce with it?

Thanks.

ML

Here is a link that might be useful: Chalk paint by Annie Sloan

Comments (18)

• allison0704
    12 years ago

Miss Mustard Seeds uses this and has several tutorials on her blog:

Here is a link that might be useful: MMS

• DLM2000-GW
    12 years ago

Chalk paint is all over the blogosphere right now - it's the current big idea. I haven't used it - the price makes me break out in a sweat!!! but I'm sure at some point I'll break down. Normally these trends leave me cold if for no other reason than they are often overpriced and underperforming, but Annie Sloan has been around for a long time and has a well respected reputation in the decorative painting world. If she's behind this product, I'd trust it. There's probably a learning curve to get the most out of it but that's true of most paint products.

• igloochic
    12 years ago

You know, I rarely read blogs...but MMS was really fun :) Thanks allison.

• sashasmommy
    12 years ago

Centsational Girl has a post about it, too

• maddielee
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you for those blog references. I love the look of the Annie Sloan colors.

I wonder if the 'feel' is very different then milk paint?

• DLM2000-GW
    12 years ago

maddielee I've wondered that, too. What I think may be a big difference is coverage and consistency. Sometimes milk paint won't thoroughly blend and you are left with clumps of undissolved product in your mix. It's also very sheer - intentionally so, and it is a lot of work and many layers to get full coverage. The chalk paint seems to have much more pigment in it and can be buffed up (without wax) to a sheen.