Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bronwynsmom_gw

Know your home's architectural style - Wash. Post

bronwynsmom
10 years ago

This is in this morning's Washington Post, and since it comes up a lot here, I thought you might be interested.

Here is a link that might be useful: Architectural style

Comments (15)

• gsciencechick
    10 years ago

Would love Victorian or Modern (funny how we like the extremes) but we have nondescript ranch, though our roof is not that flat.

Love The Grove! I have been in there, but it was many years ago when I was a grad student.

• dedtired
    10 years ago

I enjoyed looking at that. Of them all, I liked the Bungalow the best. I do love the widow's walk on the Colonial Revival.

I call my house a Faux-lonial. My little development is supposed to be colonial style, but they seem too modest for that designation!

• alex9179
    10 years ago

I used to have a 1942 Cape Cod, loved that little house. We live in a "nondescript" ranch, now. I love single level living, but our facade is seriously lacking in charm. Tan, tan, and more tan. I have some pretty garden beds, though.

So, being nondescript, could I infuse a hint of another style? Maybe put french blue shutters on the front windows since my interior is a collected traditional?

• texanjana
    10 years ago

Love The Grove, too! Funny, I don't see our listed - 90's nondescript tract home. Lol.

• gsciencechick
    10 years ago

Alex, our siding is cream/beige and our shutters & front door are black. I figure I'll work my magic on the inside, LOL. Good for you for having a nice yard/garden.

• User
    10 years ago