Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosylady

Tacky or tasteful?

rosylady
10 years ago

I am redecorating my formal dining room and have a rather unusual question.

I am a cooking school graduate and have my diploma framed. It is in a mahogany frame, and the diploma itself is very decorative with gold leafing, etc.

Is it tacky to hang it in my dining room?

I could hang it in my kitchen, but I think it is too large and formal for that space. Or, should I just keep it in the closet:)

Be honest!

Comments (37)

• ellendi
    10 years ago

You deserve to hang it where ever you please!

• ellendi
    10 years ago

You deserve to hang it where ever you please!

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    10 years ago

Display it! You deserve it! Wow! Would love for you to come and cook for us! :-))

Suzi

• anninthedistrict
    10 years ago

I think it is in the same category as family pictures where opinions vary greatly.
    It is your home and up to you.
    My opinion is you should hang it. It has meaning to you and I definitely think it would be tasteful and a meaningful conversation piece.

• nosoccermom
    10 years ago

Because you asked: Honestly, in my opinion, it works if it's somehow done with a wink or a little self-deprecation, so maybe if you can make it part of a creative wall display or vignette. It's either a professional credential, and then it shouldn't be in a social space but your place of work or business, or it's a passion and then it needs to be contextualized as such.

• rosie
    10 years ago

Since this is big for you and your cooking will be a topic of conversation, displaying it in your dining room as a decorative feature sounds delightful, perhaps expanding it to fit an important place with a wide linen liner set into a handsome, good quality frame worthy of a work of art. Framing it elegantly, rather than standard professional style, would be a way of both offering it with a little twinkle and showing off an important personal possession.