Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maui9603

8 bathroom knobs, paint them or replace them?

I have been looking to update my son's bathroom. We have many projects going on but if I see a great deal on something, in this case a faucet, I snatch it up to add to the project. I was able to score a new faucet for a great deal. It's for my 2 boys' bathroom, ages 6 and 3. So it does take quite of abuse. The faucet is chrome and looks great. the knobs on the cabinets are brass/gold. I only need 8. I am trying to decide if painting them will be a savings considering the time, given I only need 8. I was looking on ebay and simple chrome circular knobs are anywhere between $1-2 each. I have no experience painting hardware and am curious if it really would be a money saver for me, or better just to purchase them. Has anyone purchased hardware on ebay? any other sites for inexpensive chrome hardware. Guess, I would probably need to do the hinges too, which is another element into the cost factor. Thanks in advance and sorry if I rambled.

Comments (15)

• oceanna
    12 years ago

I painted the handles in my kitchen orb colored, then hit them with three coats of polyurethane. I was so lazy I didn't even take them off, just painted them in place. They have held up pretty well, and touch-ups are easy. Just don't expect them to wear as well as new hardware, and you'll save a ton of money. It's a trade-off between upkeep and cost, so up to you.

• Christie Santercangelo
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks oceanna, what would you say is the cost to paint. Can of primer and spray paint? If I could get the knobs for $2 a piece plus shipping, that would only be about $20 for new. But that's ebay, if that wouldn't be a good source, then likely it would be more expensive if I go through the box stores. I don't need the hinges, just checked and they are hidden and already chrome.

• paintergirl94
    12 years ago