Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kam76

Grass cloth?

kam76
10 years ago

I was watching American Dream Builders...any of you guys watching that and the grass cloth cut into squares and placed at different angles was very interesting. I was thinking it might be nice in my office - I think it would make the room cozy...or maybe a metallic grass cloth above the white wainscotting in my dining room. Has anyone used it? Do you have a good source/advice?

Comments (9)

• patricianat
    10 years ago

Grass cloth is very, very difficult to work with even for a professional. Anyone who thinks cutting it on different angles and hanging randomly is in for a shock. This might be more difficult than inventing a cure for the common cold unless you have a laser cutter.

• kam76
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Lol, okay thanks for the advice patricia. I have never worked with it before. That is a little frustrating because on the the show they said they were trying to do things that were accessible to the average homeowner. So the person I hire to hang wall paper would not be able to do this? I wonder if they had a lazer cutter on the show. It sure looked nice. Maybe there is some place that sells them in "tile" form already pre cut?

• chispa
    10 years ago

We did a Stark Metallic Duo Sisal and the "good" wallpaper guy did not do such a great job with it. He said it was the hardest one he had worked with ... I also think he is getting too old for this type of physical job. He came through the designer we used and we were not happy that she didn't wait for the "excellent" guy to have time on his schedule. It isn't in the main rooms and we wanted to be done with the designer, so we accepted the end result with some cleaning and sheet rock fixes paid by the designer.

• kam76
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Do you have pics of yours chispa? I'd love to see the metallic one installed.