Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tehyajenz6

What to do with "extra room"?

TehyaJenZ6
9 years ago

If all goes as scheduled, in 2 weeks I'm moving into a new house. When you walk into the house to your left is a formal living room that opens to a dining room. I have no use for a living room but as it's visible when you come in the front door, I need to come up with something to put in there that looks nice. I've attached a picture - where the outdated chandelier currently is is the dining room area of course :)

Any Ideas?

Comments (20)

• tibbrix
    9 years ago

Can you give more info. about your lifestyle? single? family? kids? grandkids? entertain a lot? Why "no need for a LR?" More info. can help with brainstorming.

• bpath
    9 years ago

I don't know about you, but I find some dining rooms to be too small! Could the front room become your dining room, and dining room a small sitting area? In our up last house I turned a corner of my DR into my own little sitting spot, and it was nice to be near the kitchen but not in it.

• anitamo
    9 years ago

How about a formal library? You're lucky to not need the space as a living room.

• teacats
    9 years ago

Let's see:

a)Library/home office: Add white Ikea Billy shelving to the main room with a couple of comfy chairs, table and standing lamps. Add a desk to the smaller space.

b)Yoga space: Add lots of plants and yoga mats. Add a small TV for playing dvds.

c)Yes -- create a much larger dining room -- and use the smaller room for four comfy armchairs around a lower round table -- for a coffee or reading area.

d)Arts and Crafts Studio -- create a full crafting space with shelving and large table.

Just some thoughts! :)

• nosoccermom
    9 years ago

It looks like the front door opens into this room, so a dining room may seem a bit strange.
    Is there a way to have a shelf that may obscure the view. Then use it as a library/reading area, provided it's relatively quiet.

• Fun2BHere
    9 years ago