Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peony4_gw

Furniture quality from local IDs

peony4
10 years ago

In a separate message, I explained that I'm in the market for a new sofa (and a few chairs), but I haven't bought this type of furniture in nearly 20 years. It's daunting, to say the least.

I'm starting locally. My fave store doesn't carry quality furniture--even as an amateur, I can test a sofa frame.

Another local designer has a lovely sofa in his store. Its tufted in the back, and seems sturdy. The cushions are fiber/down combo, and it passes my frame test. The length and depth are on target for what I need.

But it's only $1,800 on sale. I asked him for the manufacturer simply to research the quality, and he declined to share. I love everything about the sofa, but I'm really skeptical on the price--can a small, local designer offer a solid, quality sofa at this price? I'm not dumb about manufacturing and overhead, but this seems to be too good to be true. What am I missing?

Comments (5)

• beekeeperswife
    10 years ago

I cannot understand why he won't share the brand with you. Did you ask him why?

I guess I'm just an open book and would never hide this information from someone.

• ineffablespace
    10 years ago

He's afraid you are going to take this information and try to find the sofa even cheaper online. People do this all the time, so he's not being over paranoid. I know someone who furnished an entire house this way. The interior designer specified the furniture, the client bought it all elsewhere and cut out the interior designer from the process without paying her a penny for her time. And a lot of people seem to think there is absolutely nothing wrong about doing things this way.