Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ttodd_gw

Raspberry Bureau painted (pic)

ttodd
14 years ago

Update on progress of Big Girls room.

Walls are painted and done.

I just finished painting DD's bureau a raspberry color. It's called Berry Bush by SW. After I started painting I wasn't sure that I'd choosen the right shade of berry - it was coming across very 1980's mauve but I kept w/ it. As a whole the color looks much better but still wasn't quite what I'd envisioned - something more clear colored - not dusty. I wanted it to look like a modern take on an old piece of furniture. I stood back for awhile and thought then called DH at work and spoke to his boss about what to do.

We decided that the finish was too flat and that it needed to have a very shiny finish to give that updated look. The infamous George also said that w/ a shiny finish the color will come across less dusty so they will eventually spray a wet look lacquer finish on it for me.

So here's my almost finished product sans shiny finish:

I see a great ornate white mirror above it sort of Sleeping Beaty like so I'm off to troll around Craigs List.

Thanks for looking!

Oh and I decided to try my hand at origami birds for the birdcage I'm going to fish out of the basement and put in her room. I'll do them in a range of pinks some patterend and some not.

I'm going to move the glass chandelier from our bedroom into hers.

Comments (18)

• dilly_dally
    14 years ago

The new piece looks great as it is and seems to have a bit of shine already. The room is going to look great. I just LOVE your idea of origami birds for the birdcage.

• igloochic
    14 years ago

oh gad its gorgeous!!!! i love it!

• Kathleen McGuire
    14 years ago

High gloss will give it a more modern updated feel. It is pretty now, but I see GORGEOUS in your future!Love it with the new wall color!

• deeinohio
    14 years ago

Tiffani: