Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elle3_gw

to all color obsessed fandeck holders-help!

elle3
15 years ago

Mostly a lurker and searcher on gweb--love this place! I apologize in advance for not having a picture, but I thought people familiar with the following colors might be able to offer advice/suggestions :)

We recently painted our fireplace wall in our den BM tyler taupe, and LOVE it! It makes the fireplace with white mantle pop. I now need a neutral color to complement the tyler taupe. I have monroe bisque, pittsfield buff, and powell buff up now, and I'm not sure...Shaker beige and lenox tan are on the same strip, but would not work at all.

I have strips from both Sherwin williams and benjamin moore and was looking at Ivorie and Blonde from SW. If you're a "paintaholic" (like I am!) you might have all chips...could you take a look for me?

And I must say that although I am obsessed with rich paint colors, I am not good at choosing them, nor am I good at seeing undertones.

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated:)

Decent light and southern exposure in this room, btw. Off to try and fix my camera....

Comments (23)

• bestyears
    15 years ago

okay I'll take a shot at it....
    Did you look at Dunmore Cream (HC29)? Of the ones you listed I like Monroe Bisque the best. I think the Powell Buff would probably look okay, but to me the Dunmore Cream is a little more interesting with the Tyler Taupe. The Ivorie is similar to PB and Dunmore Cream -but again, I think like the PB, just a tad too similar to the Tyler Taupe, and so not quite as interesting. Just my .02 -was this helpful at all?

• parma42
    15 years ago

Sorry, house is a work in progress.

Dining room and living room are SW Ivoire. Kitchen is SW Blonde. I get loads of light. Colors are in the yellow family, which is what we wanted.

Paint strips usually appear more toned down compared to what they look like IRL.

• twizzis
    15 years ago