Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brendainnj_gw

Ideas to cover z-brick backsplash

brendainnj
14 years ago

This is my first time posting on the deco forum...I think I have the ugliest backsplash imaginable! It's the faux brick that was popular in the 80s. It's red with black "mortar". This is not cheap plastic cover; it's like half bricks that were put up. It is my MIL's house(deceased) and my DH put it up for her--he can't understand why I don't like it! I know the best case would be to tear it out, put up new sheetrock and have a CHOICE of backsplash. BUT, my DH is really not inclined to do that no matter how much I hate this stuff. It becomes the "someday" project which I know I'll never live to see. So, is there anything to cover the brick? My concern then is that the outlets would be too recessed to be usable. My DH suggested painting the brick, but a lighter color would just show more dirt and still be impossible to clean properly. If anyone has successfully done this I'd love to hear about it. Pix would be great too!

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• sweeby
    14 years ago

"My DH suggested painting the brick, but a lighter color would just show more dirt and still be impossible to clean properly."

I'm inclined to try your husband's approach first...
    In a glossy paint, the brick should be much more cleanable, and painted brick is a classic look...

• amysrq
    14 years ago

My Mom did hers in white and it was so cute. The texture and shadows of the brick did a good job of hiding day-to-day dirt. I suppose how you cook and what kind of ventilation you have should be taken into consideration.

• graywings123
    14 years ago

The painted bricks look lovely, but it sticks in my craw that the person who probably spends less time in that room is calling the shots.