Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drkona

SingleDad needs *help* w/ his foyer/entryhall!

drkona
16 years ago

Morning! This is my first time over here. The folks in Kitchens/bathrooms/appliances really helped me through my remodel, and I am *hoping* that you all can help me w/ a little decorating. I am a single dad, 2 little girls, figuring this stuff out on my own.

OK, I need help w/ my entry hall/foyer. Dimensions are 13'X 6.5'. The rug is 5'X 7'. The front door is new. The walls are painted SW Restrained Gold...and that color is used on into the dining room and around into the kitchen.

I have added a bunch of pics:

I welcome ALL suggestions....My first issues are :

#1: Help me with the SHOE CONTROL!! I need a place to hang coats...hide shoes.. I was thinking of using a hall tree/bench---maybe one of these:

http://www.coatracks.com/hall-trees/wood/cherryhillshalltree.cfm

http://www.coatracks.com/hall-trees/wood/cushionedentrywayhalltreebench.cfm#details

#2: What can I use as an inside doormat that is more attractive than what I have there now. I like my nice oriental rug...but don't I need a little something there to wipe feet on when you enter *before* you step onto the rug?? I would like to dress this up a bit...I don't like how it looks right now.

#3: I was thinking that if I put a hall tree to the right as you come in the door (where the shoes are now!!), then I would put a little chest just after that against that right wall...and then a nice big mirror on that wall above the chest??? Thoughts??

#4: Would you put anything on the wall to the left(under the light switches) as you enter the front door?? Maybe a little table to drop your keys on??

I really need help w/ decorating...and ORGANIZATION!!

Thanks,

DRK

Comments (33)

• nanmeade
    16 years ago