Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mjsee_gw

Ebay find---Dragons, chalices, a tray...OH MY! (pics)!

mjsee
14 years ago

Forgive the x-post from Antiques and Collectibles...but I'm stumped with this cool thing I just bought on ebay and not getting many comments over there. I THINK it might be a cordial set. The little chalices are definitely cast in some sort of white metal and then plated with something. The tray is probably cast...but does show some marks on the bottom that MAY mean some hand Repousse or chasing...I am not an expert by any means.

The motifs are definitely Japanese-esque...but more int he style of the late 19th/early 20th c western fascination with the culture...think Whistler's Peacock room.

From Early Spring 2010

The dragons on the little goblets are surrounded by stylized plum (or cherry?) blossoms...on the tray they are clearly water dragons. The condition on some of the goblets is rougher than I'd hoped...but I bought the piece largely for the tray. My google-skills are usually pretty good...but I'm not getting anywhere. SO--do the antique mavens who hang out here have any ideas?

melanie

Comments (6)

• teacats
    14 years ago

No ideas but simply divine!

Jan at Rosemary Cottage

• nicole__
    14 years ago

I'm "not" an expert....but....it looks very 1980's to me. Dragons were "big" then. Remember the blacklight posters with the muscled women wearing very little clothing? This stuff was collectable and "not" actually used to eat or drink from. The game dungeons and dragons ring a bell? It was sold at modern day trinket shops.

Here is a link that might be useful: Higher end version,but they still sell this motif....

• mjsee
    Original Author
    14 years ago

nicole...you could be right. I thought it had more age on it than that...and it's definitely been used...one can see where the finish has been worn from washing. I'll try and get a better picture of the goblets and their wear...