Return to the Home Decorating & Design Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Finished: Dining Room wall decor (plates, lampshades, etc.)

Posted by valinsv (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 19, 13 at 1:57

Some of you may recall I had posted a few weeks ago about updating the wall decor in my dining room to incorporate some vintage plates from my Grandmas that I had been storing in a cabinet for many years but rarely used. I imagine some may think it's a tad busy, but it makes me smile every time I walk by and remember each of my grandmas in a special way. Thank you to all who weighed in with your votes and suggestions. It really helped!

This is what it looked like before:
 photo DSC02675_zps916abd62.jpg
This was my first attempt:

photo 20130227_121341_zpsdd89a95e.jpg

And this is what it looks like now:

photo DSC03023_zpsfb224f81.jpg

photo DSC03027_zpsdacfbde7.jpg

I even managed to find a spot for the egg plate on an adjacent wall:

photo DSC03031_zps375a63e1.jpg

DH was not thrilled to have to remount the mirror in the vertical direction as it's quite heavy. He never really suggests that I replace perfectly good items with something new, but he kept asking, did I want a newer, smaller (and lighter) mirror or just keep it in the same orientation.

I felt like I also needed a different centerpiece for the dining table for spring/summer so decided to use a crystal bowl with lemons temporarily until I find just the right thing.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Finished: Dining Room wall decor (plates, lampshades, etc.)