Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crl_

Reupholstering?

crl_
11 years ago

I have never had anything reupholstered before, so I am a total novice at this. I would pay someone to do it, not do it myself.

Is it worth stalking Craigslist for pieces that would need reupholstering? For example, I found the ad linked below. I like the basic shape of the chairs, but would want the legs to show.

What would I look for to determine if they are good enough quality to bother at all? And how much should I budget for the fabric and work to have something like this reupholstered?

Thank you for any feedback!

Here is a link that might be useful: Criagslist chairs

Comments (12)

• Jamie
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

By "is it worth it?" do you mean "does one get a better outcome for less money"? I've found that you have to look at four things: labor, fabric, style/structure, and transporation, on a case-by-case basis.

For example, you could probably find new chairs similar to the ones you have sourced. But if you are going to use a very nice fabric, and you have access to reasonable labor, you'll do much better to shop for your fabric at discount and have it put on the craigslist chairs. With new chairs, unless you go full-out custom, your fabric choices will be limited. And maybe that's ok with you. If so, then I'd just buy new chairs.

To get labor cost, call an upholsterer. To get fabric cost, you have to do the legwork. Full price upholstery fabric can go from $25/yard to the sky's the limit.

There's some gorgeous Kravat mohair on ebay right now for $30/yd. That's 1/10 what you'd pay at the upholstery shop or to have it put on new custom chairs. Sometimes an upholsterer will charge more if you don't buy the fabric through him.

Here's an example of a yardage chart.

• crl_
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you! Yes, that is what I mean by worth it. Can I get better than new for the same price as new or as good as new for less?