Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happytobehome_gw

New rug - what do you think?

happytobehome
15 years ago

We just refinished the living room and dining room floors, so I've been shopping for rugs. I found a bargain yesterday that I think might work in the dining room. Is it a keeper? (I'm planning to recover the dining room chairs soon, but haven't chosen fabric yet - so don't take that into consideration. Also, bottom half of dining room walls are creamier than they appear in this pic).

View one - from the dining room

Comments (38)

• brutuses
    15 years ago

I think the rug is very pretty, but I'm not a rug expert so wait to hear from others. It appears to pick up your wall color exactly. I like it.

• stinkytufted
    15 years ago

very pretty. Is it a tufted rug?

• wearybuilder
    15 years ago

Hard to tell on my monitor...is it bright or more muted? I think I like it if it's slightly on the muted side. :)

• parma42
    15 years ago

It's a pretty rug and does pick up your colors, as Bru mentioned.

The only thing I see missing is some warmth. You have such lovely French furniture and I always like to see that paired with a bit of a warmer palette. However, I'm also aware it's a personal preference of mine. :)

• User
    15 years ago

I think it's a gorgeous rug and it works very well in your lovely room. I think once you recover your chair cushions (assuming you're going to incorporate a color and perhaps a pattern -- a stripe would be pretty!), the room will really come to life.

• boysrus2
    15 years ago

I think it looks great, and it's especially nice that it was reasonable as well.

• happytobehome
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Wow - that was quick! Thanks everyone.

To answer some questions:

Stinkytufted - I found it at HomeGoods and the tag says "Made in India, Handtufted, 100% Wool.

Wearybuilder - yes, I would say it is muted.