Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catt11

Are these family room curtains "wrong"?

catt11
11 years ago

An acquaintance I know who happens to be an interior decorator by trade stopped by recently for a "non-decorating" reason and after sitting in my family room a short time indicated that the blue lace curtains in there did not really "go" in there. She did not specify why other than to say another material other than lace curtains would look "better" and a lined professional type window treatment material in jabot and valence style would look "more finished and professional". (She also professionally makes window coverings so I don't know if that had something to do with it.)

I always like to keep an open mind and I am not very sure of my "fashion sense" and lots of times "stumble" through my decorating hoping for the best, so does anyone have any opinion on these lace curtains? I got the impression from her that the lace would have looked better in a bedroom. One reason I chose the lace was in hopes of getting as much light in the room as possible. There are mini-blinds on the windows also (10 years old) but most of the time they are open and/or brought completely up.

Any input from anyone is greatly appreciated!

Comments (33)

• deeinohio
    11 years ago

Who in the world says things like that, unsolicited no less???

Your room looks to me to be comfortable, homey, and a place I could hang out in for a long time.

BTW, jabots and swags are considered very dated, so I'm not sure how much weight I would give the opinion of your self-serving, rude acquaintance.

Dee

• patty_cakes
    11 years ago

I have to agree with your decorator friend, the curtains would be better in a bedroom. If it's light you're wanting, you can still have sheers, but more appropriate for the room.

Here is a link that might be useful: sheers

• ratherbesewing
    11 years ago