Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ninnyman

Where does Ethan Allen get their rugs from?

ninnyman
14 years ago

I found this truly beautifuly oriental hand knotted wool/silk rug at Ethan Allen. Its called the Sarouk Fereghan in Green and Ivory. (their item no. 041508) The problem is, EA priced it around $2,200 to $3,400 depending on the size. I am sure that EA buys their rugs from a major rug manufacuter such as Sury, Couristan etc or something like that. I really love the rug but am sure I can find it cheaper on the web if I only new who made it.

I have been on rug sites like Rugsdirect and Rugsdecor and many others but its like searching for a needle in a haystack. Anyone familiar with this?

Comments (18)

• sdionnemoore
    14 years ago

ninnyman, I have no experience with Ethan Allen, but I did purchase a large persian on ebay last night. Paid $426.66 for it. You can see my post--Bought rug. Thoughts? to see the rug itself. I say all that to point out that one of the people who responded to me said she also had good experience purchasing through ebay. It's worth a try, and there is quite a selection there, just make sure feedback rating is very good, that there is Ebay buyer protection in place, and that you have the option of returning the product if it's not what you want.

• ninnyman
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks. I have purchased from ebay and have had great sucess! There are a lot of discount rug websites as well. I just hate that fact the EA can mark up a product just because its sold in their store when I could get the same exact rug for less if I only knew the manufacurer.

• barbie08075
    14 years ago

Hi Ninnyman,