Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skyangel23_gw

help with door color, style, and hardware (painted black doors)

Skyangel23
10 years ago

Hi,
I am relatively new to GardenWeb, and this is my first time on this forum. While I am reading through the great posts, I need some advice. I did cross-post in building a home, and I hope that's not a problem. I really need the help!

We are building a home in Florida that is a typical builder grade home, nothing special or fancy, though we were blessed to purchase a wooded two acre lot that we love.

I was thinking about cheyanne two panel plank doors with oil rubbed bronze levers, as well as three sets of french doors: entry, dining room, and a small pair for the pantry.

Then while searching Houzz, I found black painted doors. And I LOVE them.

My questions are:
1) Do I have to do all my doors in black, or can I do only a few--such as all the french doors, or only the four doors in a long hallway? I am a little hesitant to commit 100% to something so huge

2) I feel there won't be enough contrast with ORB and black. I think brushed nickel levers would look really nice. But if all doors are not the same color, will it look really bad to also have different hardware? If I want to do even a few doors in black, should I do all the doors in the brushed nickel hardware?

3)Do the two panel plank doors and french/glass lite doors go together? The plank door has an arch while the glass doors are square. We do have a couple of arches in the house and on the front windows. I could do plain two panel, or keep the plank look but have the tops squared off instead of arched.