Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dannoaz

Exterior color ideas with brick home

Dan
10 years ago

Hi Everyone!

We are replacing the windows in our home and have an opportunity to change the color if we choose. The brick is kind of a medium red, with a tan trim.

The home seems rather drab to us, an we would like to add some contrast. We thought about white, but are thinking it might be too stark. We thought about keeping the trim color the way it is, but adding color in the way of shutters.

We also thought about changing the windows to a green or a brown.

Anyway, could some of you good folks give us some suggestions. We really don't want to make an expensive mistake with the window color!

Hopefully the picture uploads ok. Its my first try with that.

Comments (23)

• tibbrix
    10 years ago

Go with black. Gorgeous. Brings out the richness of the bricks, elegance of the windows.

Another link: http://www.nyc-architecture.com/UES/UES089.htm

Here is a link that might be useful: Black trim/Brick house

• theclose
    10 years ago

I was thinking black too (or super dark)! The house Tibbrix links to actually has white/cream trim with black mullions and shutters. Since you don't have shutters, these might be a closer match.

[Rustic Exterior[(https://www.houzz.com/photos/rustic-exterior-home-ideas-phbr1-bp~t_736~s_2111) by Lewes Design-Build Firms Burton Builders

[Traditional Exterior[(https://www.houzz.com/photos/traditional-exterior-home-ideas-phbr1-bp~t_736~s_2107) by Bethesda Design-Build Firms Dave Vogt / Case Design

[Traditional Exterior[(https://www.houzz.com/photos/traditional-exterior-home-ideas-phbr1-bp~t_736~s_2107) by Philadelphia Architects & Designers Eberlein Design Consultants

• tibbrix
    10 years ago