Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eveningbreeze_gw

Help with Home Decorating Class

eveningbreeze
9 years ago

Hi all, I'm new here. :-) I was hoping to get some ideas and help with a class I'm supposed to give in March. Things to know to help pinpoint your answers:
1) I'm not an interior designer - just a homemaker with a flair for decorating
2) I was asked by a friend if I'd give their Mother & Daughter Homeschool group a 60-90 minute class/presentation on home decorating
3) It will be informal and free
4) I'd like to incorporate sort of interactive activity relating to the theme.

Does anyone have any ideas for what to teach on in that short of time? I'm especially concerned about the activity portion because that is always the main highlight of their classes. I don't want to just give a speech and go home, you know?

Some topics I think they might appreciate are decorating on a budget and defining your decorating style but that's all I can think of. I'm starting to wonder why I accepted such a challenge. They are all friends of mine so there's not a lot of pressure. But I would like to make it worth their while!

I would LOVE to hear any good ideas! :)

Comments (18)

• graywings123
    9 years ago

A problem many people have is in accessorizing, specifically arranging nick-knacks on a shelf. Or a mantle.

If this is going to be done at someone's home, you could find out if they have a bookcase or a mantle to practice with. You could bring in boxes of nick-knacks and do your talk and then have the group decorate the mantle in different ways.

• violetwest
    9 years ago

I always think that lighting is an important layer - what about demonstrating different types of light and how they affect the mood, colors, etc.

Also, you could do some interactive thing or quiz to help people find their own "styles" -- traditional, eclectic, etc.

• maddielee
    9 years ago