Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arlosmom

Purple bedroom

arlosmom
13 years ago

I'm pretty new to the home decoration forum. I've lurked a lot, but only posted a few times. I used to be a regular on the kitchens forum a couple of years ago. I'm hoping you all can help me. I'd really appreciate your input.

Our master bedroom is currently painted a Duron light brown color with way too much of a fleshy undertone (don't remember the color name offhand, but I think the can is still lurking in the basement). Neither my husband nor I like the current color. It's a reasonably bright room with windows on three sides and a 10 foot ceiling height. The floors are heart pine and all trim is painted BM Soft Chamios.

Over the weekend, DH and I sat down with our paint fan decks and brainstormed possibilities for a new color. We have two old oriental rugs in there that have a lot of brown tones, so up till now we've been thinking that we had to stick with some shade of brown for the walls. But then I was looking around the house at other wall color/rug color combinations in other rooms that I'm really happy with and I realized that my thinking has been way too inflexible re. the bedroom color. I decided that I don't need to be held hostage by my rugs!!! In general, I'm not a matchy matchy type of person. I like old and beat up and quirky.

Here are some photos of the room as it is now. The rugs, window shades, and furniture are all staying. The wall color is going:

I suggested a few color possibilities to DH and the one he liked was a dull, deepish purple. Has anyone used BM Sleepy Hollow? I bought a quart this morning and painted a big corner of the room (I'm horrible at trying to evaluate color from a little swatch). So what do you think? Is it too dark for the space? Can it work with the rugs? Is it OK with the oak and birds eye maple furniture?

The color in the photo is pretty true. I think maybe I like it, but I'm really nervous at the same time.