Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
citymomof3

Paint color to match this bedding???

citymomof3
16 years ago

I swear I have never had this problem before! I have no idea what color to paint my son's room! We finally have the old border off the walls and are getting ready to prime over the old paint.

Here is the bedding....

It's a pirate theme room, but we're going for more of a nautical pirate look. I wanted to put bead board on the bottom half, but it's going to be too much work to take all the baseboard off. What color would you pull out of this bedding?? It has a lot of blue, so I don't know if blue would be too much? His furniture is a lighter maple color, so a tan wouldn't really make the furniture stand out. The red in the quilt is REALLY bright. What to do??

Comments (19)

• skypathway
    16 years ago

I normally don't answer these questions because I'm not good at this, but when I opened the post and saw you wanted a pirate room with this bedding, my immediate thought was to paint the bottom third of the wall tan to mimic to wood of a boat and the top a blue similar to but not matching the blue in the pillows to mimic the sky and ocean. I don't think you have to make his furniture stand out from the wall. Alternatively if you do the beadboard, I'd paint it a crisp white with sky blue walls again it will give a nautical feel to the room. Cute bedding.

Sky

• lindybarts
    16 years ago

Good idea Sky! Or the bottom half of the wall could be painted white instead of going to the trouble of beadboard and then the sky blue on top. I also think a neutral khaki would be nice since the bedding is pretty bold.

• les917
    16 years ago

What is the flooring in the room? Does he have a bedskirt in blue? Because really when I look at the the comforter, I don't see blue walls as being too much blue. He has light maple furniture, and I am sure that you will be finding colorful prints or items for the walls, etc.