Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swimkin

Meeting with an Interior Designer next week

Zoe52
10 years ago

We are getting ready to build a new home. We are meeting with an Interior Designer next week. She already has a set of our plans for our next home. We have also sent pictures and dimensions of furniture and rugs that we will be using in our next home.

Since I have never built a home before, can someone please help us determine what are some good questions to ask her? She already sent us her contract fees and told us she has her own shop where we can go to save money (builder's cost) to find even builders materials (mostly for interior finishes), furniture, lighting, and window treatments.

So what questions should we be asking her before signing a contract?

Comments (4)

• Oakley
    10 years ago

I would talk to your builder first. Many builders can get interior finishes at lower prices than what it would cost you to buy in the store. So I have to wonder if the designer would actually be saving you money? Do a lot of research before you sign on the dotted line. Definitely talk to the builder first.

• chispa
    10 years ago

Don't believe that she will be passing her builder's (wholesale) cost to you!

Make sure the contract protects YOU. For a large project like this I would have my lawyer review the contract. I would assume since you are building and hiring a designer, that you have a "good" budget ... be ready to spend even more.

Make sure the contract states that your designer will itemize the hours spent on your project and state what she charges for materials, for example cost/wholesale plus a certain percentage. Request in the contract that she show you the cost invoices. Request detailed invoices with product #, material/fabric #, yardage, etc.