Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
massagerocks_gw

is this normal? Ballard Designs

massagerocks
10 years ago

i have limited experience with online catalog ordering. Back in November I fell in love with a small chandelier from Ballards that was perfect for the room I'm re-doing. I ordered about 8 rug swatches and the light. There was no indication when I placed my order that the light was backorder. My swatches came, but no light. No explanation invoice in the box. I've never received any emails from Ballards except promotional ones! Nothing ever regarding my order. I did check all my em boxes. I looked up my order online and the shipping date for the light was listed as 2/24/14, a full 3 months away. I've sent several emails to customer service, but have never received a reply. I'm HOH and do not use the phone. Is this standard practice? Dont places usually indicate something is on backorder or at least notify you of such at the time of order? The light still consistently appears in the many catalogs I've received since then as if its readily available.

Comments (12)

• zen4d
    10 years ago

It is unusual that they wouldn't tell you it's on back order. Can you have someone call on your behalf and ask for an update on the status? By they way, have you checked Lamps Plus? They usually have everyone's lamps at a discounted price.

• WendyB 5A/MA
    10 years ago

I think that's terrible -- and not normal. they must have a customer service email and/or Contact Us page. I would cancel the order and look elsewhere. That 2/24 date could be just a big guess too and might be bumped again.