Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bpath

ISO the Yummiest Danish Rice Pudding

bpath
9 years ago

We keep a Danish tradition whereby as part of the Christmas Eve dinner, everyone gets a bowl of rice pudding; one bowl has an almond, and whoever gets the almond, gets a gift.

The problem? No one likes the rice pudding! Well, that's not true, but it's not a big fave. We've served it warm, cold, lots of texture, very smooth, with cinnamon, with cherry sauce, raspberry sauce, you name it; half the people just poke around for the almond and eat only a polite taste. (Don't talk to me about almonds and allergies, we already take care of that.)

We aren't giving up on the tradition, and trust me, substituting chocolate mousse is NOT an option, at least not while the older generation is still with us :)

This is my first year to make it, Mom just can't anymore. What I'm looking for is a really yummy rice pudding! Rice mousse? Parfait? Can I mix it with another pudding or mousse? Help!

Comments (9)

• Bethpen
    9 years ago

I have always used this Cooks Illustrated recipe. Unfortunately I am the only one in the family who likes it, so I don't make it often. What a fun tradition!

The link isn't to Cooks' site, someone posted it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Rice Pudding Link

• Gracie
    9 years ago

I'm addicted to the NY Times rice pudding with golden raisins recipe. I can't link to it from my tablet but you can google it. Make sure you add the orange peel, and use cardamom pods instead of cinnamon.

• bpath
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Those recipes with orange peel sound dee-lish, and refreshing! Even Mom was intrigued as she leafed through her Danish cookbooks.

I wonder if you can mix chocolate with rice pudding?

• luckygal
    9 years ago

Just saw this recipe which might be more popular with your guests. I'd serve it in very small bowls which PW also does.

Here is a link that might be useful: PW rice pudding

• Gracie
    9 years ago