Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terezosa

Signing artwork

I've been painting for a few years, but haven't developed a signature for my work. I haven't shown any of my art, and what I've done so far is in my home, my husband's office and I've given a couple of pieces to my kids.

I'm getting ready to put a painting in an amateur show, and I haven't decided how to sign it. My full first and last name is kind of long, and not very "arty". I'd like to use just my first and middle names. My first name is fairly common, but has a slightly unusual spelling and my middle name is more unique and flows well with it.

I also kind of feel that since my first and middle names are the only names that I use that I have had since birth they are the names that are really "me", if that makes sense, even though most people know me by my nickname of Terri.

I've had two different married names (current and ex) and use my maiden name as the middle name on my passport, but my given first and middle names have been with me throughout my life.

So, after that long explanation, would it be okay to just use the first and middle names as a signature on my paintings? I'll sign and date the back with my full name though.

Comments (13)

• Holly- Kay
    9 years ago

I believe it is perfectly acceptable but then I plan on using my first and middle name if I ever get around to publishing a book I wrote.

I feel exactly the same Terri that my first and middle name is the real me!

• Boopadaboo
    9 years ago

oh would love to see pics. I think you shared some awhile ago and it was lovely! I agree. first and middle is a good idea. I also use my initials (all three) from before I was married for many things so if it were me, I might do that (shhh don't tell anyone, but that is really ME :) )

• justgotabme
    9 years ago

Anymore I sign my work with an artistic version of all my initials.