Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_21006250

The Oil-Cleansing Method (OCM)

User
9 years ago

Anyone cleanse their face using only oil?

Since I have changed my daily sunscreen (my has mexoryl in it) to a water resistance one, I have noticed that after washing my face, I always use Dove soap, it doesnt feel clean. Actually feels a bit tacky. I am assuming that sunscreen is not completely washed off. I have been reading up on using oil to remove the sunscreen and have been finding out how good it actually it is as a cleanser.

Comments (10)

• Boopadaboo
    9 years ago

Yes. I have been doing this for about 6-9 months I think. I can not imagine doing anything else anymore. I have a pin board if you want mroe reading :)

I mix a few oils.

I still need to put a bit of an oil moisturizer on afterwards and I am still working on finding the right mix for that.

Here is a link that might be useful: oil cleansing

• User
    Original Author
    9 years ago

What oils do you mix?

I was thinking of just using coconut oil to get off the sunscreen and then using dove soap....does that seem stupid? I have my favourite serums and moisturisers I use that have anti aging ingredients, would the coconut oil or any oil for that matter leave a film on the skin so the serums wouldnt penetrate as well?

• Boopadaboo
    9 years ago

hmm so you are really talking about using it like a make up remover but for sunscreen. I did not understand. it does leave your skin feeling different then using soap. I do think other creams would penetrate but maybe not the same as after using a drying soap.

I use grapeseed oil, castor oil, jojoba oil and sea buck thorn seed oil.

I have read that coconut oil can clog your pores so I have not tried that one for my face. (just hair, and I hate the smell for some reason!)

• User
    Original Author
    9 years ago