Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrdredux_gw

Should I buy photoshop?

mtnrdredux_gw
10 years ago

Right now, if I want to superimpose things on a photo of a room, I have to take screenshots and layer them into a word doc. It's clumsy and it doesn't work at all for some things, like paint color.

How long is the learning curve? What else will i do with it?
Our current project involves every room in the house, so maybe it is worth it just for that?

Comments (29)

• kellyeng
    10 years ago

I'm a graphic designer and have been working almost everyday in PS for at least 17 years now and I only know a fraction of what PS can do. It's a ridiculously complicated, powerful, mind-bending program.

I'm not sure about the details but Adobe is offering Photoshop "Cloud" (and all of their programs) for a $20 per month fee. Basically, it's a membership where you use the software and store files completely online.

So you don't mind paying for a program where you will only be using the very tip of the tip of the iceberg, then go for it. It's very fun!

• DLM2000-GW
    10 years ago

Photoshop Elements is very reasonable - usually at Costco for about $60. It will do all that you mentioned and a ton more. It's no where near as complicated - as Kelly said, mind-bending! - as the full Photoshop but there will still be way more than you'll likely ever use. There are lots of tutorial videos on Youtube to help you accomplish what you want.

• roobear
    10 years ago

You could pay for Photoshop, or download Gimp which is free, and essentially similar to Photoshop. Both programs have their advantages/disadvantages when using them, there are some tools I prefer in Gimp, and some in Photoshop, but both do a lot of the same things.