Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisychain01_gw

creative ideas for fire drill blanket?

daisychain01
11 years ago

Hi everyone, I know you are a creative bunch and I'm hoping you can help me. I'm a kindergarten teacher in a VERY cold climate. In the last couple of years we have had a couple of fire scares (broken exhaust fan in the kitchen, workmen accidentally setting off the alarm, etc). It can take 20 minutes or more to get the kids back inside and it can be extremely cold especially for the little ones. We've been given the foil blankets and a few fleece blankets for each class, but with the little ones, I end up running from one kid to the other trying to keep blankets in place, the wind blowing them around, etc.

I was hoping someone could help me come up with an easy design for some sort of cape or tent-like thing the kids could wear. One idea I have is to take a long piece of fleece and fold it lengthwise and cut head holes every couple of feet. Sort of like a poncho, but for multiple kids. I also should mention that they have to be able to walk in it, since our evacuation site (in case we have to leave school grounds for safety) is a couple of blocks away.

Anyone have any other ideas? or perhaps could improve on mine or point out problems with it? I have no budget for this, so please keep in mind that it has to be cheap.

Comments (15)

• chickadee2_gw
    11 years ago

I like the idea of a poncho, but I wouldn't put more than one kid to a poncho. That's asking for trouble. I found some simple instructions in the link below.

Don't hesitate to go to your local Walmart and ask the manager in person if he/she can give you a discount on the fleece because it's for a school in their area. Can't you ask the parents to come up with the money. If you got a discount, it shouldn't cost more than $5 per child. I'd also ask a few parents for help in cutting them out. Just get one color of fleece so the kids have nothing to argue about.