Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newdawn1895

What is your favorite dessert that YOU make?

newdawn1895
13 years ago

Ever since ttodd talked making cupcakes I have been cupcake crazy. Although, I am not a cake maker but more of a pie person.

My first dessert that I love that I make is my Coconut Cream Pie w/heavy whipped cream. I don't use low fat anything and probably angio plastie is necessary after this baby.

My second is Peach Cobbler w/rich vanilla ice cream. I never met a cobbler that I didn't like, but peach is my favorite.

I don't make these often because I wouldn't be able to get through the front door if I did.

How about yours?

.....Jane

Comments (29)

• golddust
    13 years ago

I have a great recipe for cheesecake. I've been making it since I was 18 years old and got the recipe from a room mate's mom. It's a vanilla cheesecake with a vanilla sour cream top layer.

Second is my chocolate cake. The recipe includes sour cream, coffee and buttermilk. It is very moist.

My mom was a pie maker and I can't seem to get her pie dough right so she ruined me for pies. Since she died, I haven't had a good piece of pie. Berry pie for breakfast is the best!

• JennaVaNowSC
    13 years ago

golddust... I would love to have your choc cake and cheesecake recipes. My friend just gave me a buttermilk glaze recipe, she puts it on white or yellow cakes. have yet to try it, she says you cannot taste the buttermilk. :)

• yborgal
    13 years ago

I have 2 favorites.

One is a yellow pound cake with an almond chocolate ripple.

The other is a Ricotta cake.

Both start off with a cake mix, are simple but very tasty.

• mrsmarv
    13 years ago

Hmmm...a few come to mind.

My apple (or peach) crisp is wonderful because the apples come from a neighboring farm. DH and I pick them and straight away they go into pies, crisp, applesauce or my home canned apple pie filling that I use later on during the winter.