Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jterrilynn

Are there any real estate agents here?

jterrilynn
11 years ago

How do you deal with customers where the wife wants one thing and the husband wants another and where they might agree somewhere the pricing gets in the way?

Husband has done no research and has a very unrealistic idea of prices. Its not that I have no experience in dealing with his unrealistic ideas of how much is what but I'd like to by pass all the aggravation and months and months of forcing him into reality. Is there a way? Showing him online listings does not help at all.

For downsizing I would like a small 1500 to 1900 sf one story home with a small yard, preferably with a pool but not a deal breaker and at least a one car garage. Ideally I would like something from the 50's or 60's that needs a moderate remodel. I do not want the house where someone has slapped white paint over an outdated kitchen and expects a high premium for the attempt.

Husband wants a connected home with a fenced patio and shared green spaces. At least that's what he says...however, he does not want to pay HMO fees over $150. Huh? That does not leave any nice or even halfway nice areas open for considerations in the town we both want to live. Plus, I am not a condo or planed condo/townhome sort. I need my own bit of sky and grass. I need my own identity and that does not include buying in an area where all the homes are identical and I have no yard and lots of rules. And, I'd like to walk my dog in areas not along a busy highway.

I have discussed a compromise in getting something small with a tiny yard which he agrees with but his idea of prices are so unrealistic it is causing trouble. Infact, we do not even have our house on the market yet and have already had several heated discussions. I'm living in a place I love, close to restaurants and shopping but with a bit of country. I cannot be contained in a box near lots of concrete.