Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fourkids4us

I did it, and a photo to sort of prove it!

fourkids4us
10 years ago

I faced my "fear" today and crossed the bridge. I admit that in recent days I was thinking about it and could feel the worry creep inside me. Even though I've been driving the bridge w/o problems for 8 years since that one panic attack, the recent accident had me a little freaked out.

Today I had to bring my boys to camp, which meant I had to cross the bridge to get them there. I drank lots of water, as someone suggested, and though I could feel myself getting a little nervous, it really helped that my daughter was sitting in the front next to me having a detailed conversation. And, a transit police officer happened to be in the lane right next to me, so it prevented anyone from driving recklessly on the way across.

The way back was a different story. The right lane on the span was closed for construction on the bridge so there was heavy traffic in the remaining two lanes. There were two 18-wheelers behind me as I approached the bridge so I switched lanes (car was launched off the bridge after being hit from behind by a truck). Then just as I'm getting on the bridge, my dd says, "Mom, so where was it that the car went off the bridge anyway?" OMG, I was ready to kill her!! The span I was getting on is the one that gives me trouble so I just matter of factly said, "I'm not talking about that now!" And later, after we got across, she apologized and said she'd forgotten about my anxiety. So traffic was very heavy and moving sooooooo slowly over the bridge that it just added to my nerves, but fortunately, I handled it just fine, a few deep breaths and keeping in conversation with my dd helped.