Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barb5_gw

Co-signing a lease for DS?

barb5
10 years ago

DS wants to rent an apartment with 2 friends. Today they found one that they like. They met with the landlord who said that he wants the parents to co-sign the lease.

DS has good taste in friends, but we have not met the friends. One will be a senior in college, and the other will be starting graduate school. DS is starting a job.

I don't mind co-signing and covering DS, but will I be responsible for the two friends, if they fail to pay rent? And by signing, could I be held responsible for any damage to the apartment?

I never had to have my parents co-sign a lease when I was a graduate student renting an apartment with 2 other graduate students. And we weren't required to co-sign a lease when DD rented an apartment with 2 friends, one of whom was a graduate student at the time.

I'm unsure of what obligations I am assuming by co-signing the lease. If DS needed help to cover his obligations, I would help him, but I am unwilling to cover for the two others he will be renting the apartment with. I would love to know if this is now standard procedure for landlords, and if any of you have had any experience in this. What should I do?

Comments (15)

• ellendi
    10 years ago

We have done this quite a few times with both our daughters. Talk to the other parents before co-signing.
    We never had trouble with friends not paying their share.

• jakabedy
    10 years ago

As for whether this cosigning request is standard, I don't know. It could be a very localized thing. I do remember that when I got my first job after college (way back in 1987) that my mom had to co-sign for my apartment. At that time it was because my expected income didn't meet the requirements for the particular apartment. That could be the case with your son -- he's the only one with a real income, but this is probably a 3BR place, so pricier than he can qualify for on his own.