Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stinky_gardener

Birth control pill experiences?

stinky-gardener
13 years ago

Yesterday went for my annual Gyn visit. Since my sister has been diagnosed with breast cancer, my maternal grandmother was too, and I'm now 47, my doc thinks I'm in a high risk group and changed by BC prescription to a pill with a lower dose of estrogen called Loestrin.

I have been using a generic called Necon for several years. Used Ortho before that. Both of these pills have 35 mcg of estrogen. The Loestrin has 20.

Found a website where Loestrin users share their experiences with it. Overwhelmingly, their experiences are bad. I mean, nightmarish. They mention severe depression, anxiety, weight gain, severe cramping, breast soreness, severe headaches, even blood clots.

I wonder if I should just call my doc & tell her I want to stick with my usual pill. I have a feeling she won't change it back though.

Have any of you used Loestrin? Have any experiences to share with using the pill in your 40's & making a change to a lower dose pill?

Thanks.

Comments (18)

• User
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I haven't used the Loestrin. I did use Necon and Ortho for 8-9 years. Towards the end of that time I finally started to really think about what was in those little pills I was taking every day. I didn't realize they were were higher in estrogen. After expressing my concern my gyn suggested Yaz (which has now been taken off the market I believe). Getting to my point, I went online and read so many horrible, horrible things I was scared to change. For a few different reasons I stopped bc all together. Getting to my point, I never had any problems with my pills but I'm sure I could do a search and read bad things. I'm sure most of the people that take the time to post aren't the ones doing ok, iykwim. That might give you some peace of mind.

Hopefully someone here has used it and can be of more help!

• Ideefixe
    13 years ago