Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daisychain01_gw

omega 3 anyone?

daisychain01
10 years ago

Is anyone taking Omega-3 Calm? A couple of weeks ago, I started taking this to help with mood swings. Since I've been taking it, I've lost 7 lbs - without trying. I am not someone who loses weight without meaning to. Like many people, I've found it increasingly hard to keep from gaining weight as I get older and my weight has been creeping up incrementally as I age. I googled it and found one small study that showed taking Omega 3 with increased exercise may help with weight loss, but looking at the results I think the weight loss could be explained by the increase in exercise alone (but I'm no scientist).

What I'm worried about is that there may be something else going on with my body that could be a negative and it's just a coincidence that it started at the same time I started the Omega 3. I just had a check up 6 months ago and I hate going to the doctor, so would rather avoid the trip. Thoughts? Anyone want to guinea pig it and see if they have the same results?

Comments (17)

• 3katz4me
    10 years ago

I would also be concerned about "unexplained" weight loss. I don't think you can count on someone else's experience for anything. People react differently to medications and supplements and don't all experience the same side effects. Maybe you should just stop taking it and see if your weight returns to previous the level or if you continue to lose.

• daisychain01
    Original Author
    10 years ago

gibby, your advice is rational and logical and I should probably do that. However, with the summer bathing suit season here, I will probably disregard it and just enjoy being slimmer (unless I get any other "symptoms" of course). Feel free to say, "I told you so" if I come back on with some extreme medical condition in the future :-)