Return to the Home Decorating Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Did anyone see or hear of this?

Posted by tinam61 (My Page) on
Tue, May 1, 12 at 16:28

I heard of the blog this morning, but they didn't announce that the baby had died yesterday. So sad. . .

Here is a link that might be useful: Avery's bucket list

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Did anyone see or hear of this?

We have a "hospice room" on the pediatric floor where I work. SMA just claimed the life of the last patient in it. So very sad for all involved. I cannot even imagine the depths of their grief.

Awful disease, and always fatal when diagnosed in an infant.

I never saw this blog. But unfortunately for me, this is part of what I do for a living. Never gets any easier. Just makes me appreciate my own babies all the more.

o

I'm sorry Polly.

o

Yes, I saw that Tina! Very sad.

Polly, you're doing amazing work! There are happy stories that emerge out of your unit too, fortunately. I'm sure you'd agree that babies are saved in the NICU today who 10 years ago would have perished. Focus on those wonderful outcomes!

o

OMG, my heart just goes out to her parents, all the parents who loose a child like that. It's so devastatingly sad, what a beautiful little girl she was.

o

How incredibly sad! My heart goes our to her family. What a tragic, devastating disease.
Lynn

o

I just looked at the blog an he just informed everyone.

o

This must be nearly unbearable for her family, how very, very sad.

o

Stinky- I certainly do focus on the happy endings in NICU. It's what has made me stay for 14 years!

o

I'm so glad you feel that way Polly. I've seen how hard medical staff, particularly nurses, work in the NICU, and it's quite impressive, to say the least. Also advancements in treatment modalities for these tiny patients is awe-inspiring. I'm sure you have to do your homework to keep up with it all.