Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_lu_gw

Kindle, Nook or IPad?

mary_lu_gw
11 years ago

I am thinking of buying DH an e-reader and not sure what to buy. I have no previous experience with e-readers. I do have a notebook computer with wireless Internet.

I should also mention that DH is not very computer literate. He tried out an inexpensive reader of a friends (a literati?) and really liked it.

Those of you who use an e-reader, what has been your experience and what would you recommend? I think ease of downloading the books would be something that would help DH be a more avid user.

Suggestions and recommendations would be great!

Comments (26)

• gwlolo
    11 years ago

I have a kindle and iPad and invariably reach for the iPad. My 86yr old mother inlay who is completely computer illiterate took about a day to figure out the touch interface and plays memory games with my daughter and navigate to see videos. There is a good kindle app for iPad in case he also likes to read a lot.

• cat_mom
    11 years ago

My mom has a Nook (Color?) and likes it a lot. I've been very happy with the iBook interface n my iPad.

I am somewhat computer literate, but no techie by any means. A lot of stuff was easy to figure out, either outright, or by trial and error. Other stuff I've had to ask. Apple support has been pretty good for the most part; both in-store and on the phone. I've encountered a few duds, but luckily more good than bad tech support.

A nice thing; Apple (stores) offer free workshops for specific devices or for specific, features (eg. iCloud, iTunes, photos/camera....). You can take the same workshop as often as you'd like. I always learn something new, always, be it something I didn't know how to do,ma new tip or trick, or, a useful app to install.

• beaglesdoitbetter1
    11 years ago

I have an iPad, several different Kindles and a Nook Color.

Hate the Nook Color. No benefits to it what-so-ever as compared w/ other devices.