Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cowhorncreek

Discarding Old Prescription Medications

In our house are several outdated prescription medications. Everything I read says not to flush them down the toilet, not to throw them away in the trash, etc.

How does one discard old, outdated prescription medications?

Comments (11)

• Delilah66
    12 years ago

I'm an environmental engineer. A large manufacturing company I worked for ran its own pharmacy for employees. When the pharmacy had outdated meds, we consulted with the city-run wastewater treatment plant who told us it was fine to discard them down the drain. There are some chemicals that are incompatible with water but they are ones that are used in manufacturing and in more concentrated levels than any prescription for human ingestion. Throwing them in the trash (whole) is not advisable because someone "could" find them and take them.

• natal
    12 years ago

Some communities have "take-back" programs. Here's info from the FDA.

Here is a link that might be useful: How to dispose of unused medicines

• mboston_gw
    12 years ago

Our town/city had a drive through drop off day a couple months ago. It was held at the police station - pills had to be in a clear bag, sealed and was dropped into a locked box.

We have been told not to dispose of them in the water system.

• HomeMaker
    12 years ago

My pharmacy takes back any and all old meds (prescription or not) and disposes of them for me.

• silvercomet1
    12 years ago