Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gw_oakley

Easter gift ideas for the Grands

Oakley
13 years ago

I'm completely new to this. My DGS will be 2 1/2 on Easter, my DGD will be 6 mos.

What is customary for grandparents to give their young grandchildren at Easter?

Should I get them a small basket filled with age appropriate toys and a little candy, but not for the baby.

The big baskets will come from Mom and Dad, but I'd like to get them something.

Any ideas?

Comments (21)

• les917
    13 years ago

How about a cute easter or spring related book? Then a little stuffed animal or toy that relates to something in the book. Building a book collection for kids is a wonderful thing to do.

Another tradition would be to buy them a new spring coat or jacket each year. When they are little you could include a small toy, as they get older a plastic egg with some money or a gift card. Kids love those.

• Oakley
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Les, their mom's a teacher and there are sooo many books I'm afraid to get one for fear they already have it! lol

Here in OK. it will be getting warm around Easter.

I do like the egg idea as they get older.

• Oakley
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Look at this website, adorable stuff!

Here is a link that might be useful: Easter Baskets

• lizbeth-gardener
    13 years ago

I have 8 grands and they get a basket from us (grandparents) and then they get to hunt outside (inside in bad weather) for the eggs the Easterbunny leaves.

I like to give books and always check with their mothers to make sure they don't have the ones I'm getting and they, too, have many, but they get read to nightly and they remember who gave them each book and also love books. If you go that route one to look at for the 2 1/2 yr old is "The Golden Egg" by A.J. Wood. It has lots of wonderful colored eggs and lift flaps and is just a really neat book.