Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mizannthrope

Are you a Computer Systems Analyst?

MizAnnThrope
11 years ago

If so, will you share a bit about your job? I'm thinking of switching to this as a new career in my late 40s.

Comments (13)

• 3katz4me
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not but will share my two cents being that I work in the software industry and also work with companies that have IT departments with "analysts". In my experience corporate IT departments are chronically understaffed and it seems like it could be a challenging/frustrating environment to work in depending on the nature of the company.

What is your educational background? It seems like to be considered for this type of position you'd need an MIS degree unless you already have a lot of applicable experience. You also need exceptionally good communication and interpersonal skills to bridge the gap between the technology people and the lay people.

• amj0517
    11 years ago

The details of the job vary from one company to the next. I was a systems and business analyst before having kids and gibby nailed it. "You also need exceptionally good communication and interpersonal skills to bridge the gap between the technology people and the lay people". In my role I didn't have to know the guts of the tech side, but I needed to know enough to commuicate with the IT side. I also didn't need to be an expert in my assigned business modules, but I needed to know enough to fully understand their needs and concerns.

• Jamie
    11 years ago

I've been doing hands on technical work for 34 years, based on a BS in economics. (Computer science degrees weren't widely known back then, and who would want one anyway?)

I believe you're asking about jobs that don't involve reading and writing code or performing operating systems tasks? In my world, those are known as management jobs, as opposed to analysis jobs.