Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jlj48

Inexpensive glasses recommendations? (vision)

jlj48
10 years ago

My daughter just got new contacts and we used our insurance benefit on the contacts. I'm looking for a new backup pair for her. Vision place could replace her lenses in her current frames for $230!. I thought I could do better. Any recommendations?

Comments (11)

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago

I have no experience with their vision center, but perhaps Costco? Also, LensCrafters is always running specials.

• Bumblebeez SC Zone 7
    10 years ago

Zenni

• ms-thrifty
    10 years ago

I am happy with mine from Costco..I too use my insurance for contacts, and have gotten two pairs from Costco, They had a better selection of nice inexpensive frames than lens crafters. My grandson gets his at Wall mart, and is happy with his, but I prefer Costco.

• jlj48
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I don't live near a Costco, but do a Walmart (everyone does). Is Zenni an online retailer? Sorry, my glasses are reading glasses from the Dollar Tree. My only concern about an online retailer is if they need adjusted. With not buying them locally, would I need to pay to get that done when/if needed?

• juliekcmo
    10 years ago

DD got hers on the internet and was very pleased.

Not sure of the website.

I believe you got to select up to 5 pair of frames, order them, try on, send them all back U.P .S., and pick the one you want them to fill with your RX.

I think the total was about $100. You did need to have a valid RX.

• RNmomof2 zone 5
    10 years ago

How much does she wear these glasses? We just went through this with my DD as well. I started to get lenses without any bells and whistles. If you are wearing them from the bathroom to bed, do you really need scratch coat, anti-reflection, thinnest lenses available, designer frames? I ended up getting a few of these options but did not get the fanciest options available.