Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosarugosa1

I vant to be alone!

Rosarugosa1
10 years ago

I am about to be an empty-nester and just crossed into my 50s. I have mostly been a stay at home mom over the last 20 years with stints of part-time work and volunteer work always done to fit around the needs of my family. I have a husband whose career has involved lots of travel meaning he's been away and I've been holding it together at home. I have a college degree and some grad school (fwiw!) but never prioritized career or earnings (dumb!) I think I am just really tired of having my life revolve around other people's needs. As of this September (2014) my youngest is leaving for college. I have been a hands-on mom and taken care of the household for years and I feel like I need time alone to sort out what I want to do next. I'm confused and wanting to change everything. My husband doesn't quite understand this urge to up and 'find myself" and my turning things upside down at home but to his credit, he is trying. Over the years I have traveled alone by myself on and off so this is not a sudden development but these have been short trips with a purpose, professional conferences or yoga retreats and the like. Here's the question. Have you or has anyone you know ever just up and left, moved into a little house or apartment somewhere for an extended time period, say 3 - 6 months to sort things out? If so, what was it like?

Comments (26)

• redcurls
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A neighbor (friend) of mine who lived 6 doors up the street did EXACTLY that. Turned out her DH didn't like being left alone, so he found a girlfriend. The wife didn't even go that far away...to an apartment less than a half mile away. Her DH seems happier...not sure about my friend. Maybe the grass wasn't greener. Family members didn't much care one way or the other, which surprised me.

• runninginplace
    10 years ago