Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamie1s

Hospital acquired infection with colonoscopy?

Jamie
10 years ago

I'm on the CDC website and they categorize these according to the vehicle of transmission (as opposed to categorizing by bug/virus type).

The transmission vehicles they list are central line catheter, urinary catheter, surgical site, and ventilator.

They do then put C.Diff by itself without regard to how you get it.

My question concerns colonoscopy. Are you risking HIA with colonoscopy? Seems like you would? A particular one?

I have no health care background and am chicken/paranoid.

Comments (23)

• tishtoshnm Zone 6/NM
    10 years ago

I doubt it is common. C. difficile is often from being on antibiotics long term that allows C. diff to eventually flourish.

Others like central line, urinary catheter and ventilator are often due to the long term nature of them. If a urinary catheter is in for a long time, that is what increases the risk of infection. They used to be left in for too long but that is less common now. Ventilators likewise are often for a longer term. The other problem is that most of these are in patients who are weakened/debilitated so have less ability to fight off whatever may be present.

If you are looking at a routine colonoscopy, I would not be too concerned. Of course, the best course of action would be to discuss this with the physician performing the procedure.

• pirate_girl
    10 years ago

Well if you have no health background, I'd suggest not thinking the worst first. Try talking to folks who've had this done, most folks are just fine!

While I too have been putting this particular exam off for a while, it's often done outside a hospital (that's how I plan to do mine). If you're so concerned about acquiring hospital borne infection, I'd suggest you do it in private doctor's office OUTSIDE a hospital setting.

Knowledge & self education are far preferable to chicken / paranoid / semi-panic.