Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blueiris24

Selling Crafts, Accepting Checks

blueiris24
16 years ago

I am new to all of this - I need to make some supplemental income and am thinking of starting to sell some items this next year. I realize I have some reading to do to figure out the business end of all this, but I was hoping you could answer a few questions. Do any of you accept checks? What has been your experience with that? Do you have additional insurance for any reason? Have you tried to sell on ebay and if so did you feel it was worth it? I've never done anything like this and I'm scared! I quilt and although I don't think there is an appreciation out there for the time and money involved in big quilts, I thought I'd try some wall hangings and some more artsy stuff and see what kind of reaction I got. I appreciate your help & guidance!

Comments (15)

• summerflower2007
    16 years ago

I had a bad experience with eBay. I donÂt think it is a good place for quality products. My friend mentioned this site to me where you can post your crafts and sell them online http://www.artmyriad.com. They are new, but the site looks pretty nice and it is more specialized. Hope this helps. Btw, I am a big fan of quilts. Do you have a site where I could see them?

-Ann

Here is a link that might be useful: ArtMyriad.com

• blueiris24
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks, Ann, I don't have a website or anything along those lines-- I am just starting to think about selling items- I'm an intermediate quilter so I'm not in the same league as some of the quilters with their beautiful detailed work - but it's my New Year's Resolution to take more time to work on quilts and a few other things I dabble in, and I thought maybe if I started selling things I would have the rationale I need to take the time to sit down and do it!

• toomuchglass
    16 years ago