Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dianecrafts

Needle Felting - Santa

dianecrafts
16 years ago

Anyone else do needle felting? Last night a friend and I took a needle felting class. It was soo much fun. I have never done this before but I can tell it is going to be added to my long list of craft addiction. While it certainly is not perfect, I'm pretty happy with my santa who is a little bit lumpy and a little bit lopsided. My next one will be better I'm sure.

Comments (21)

• donner
    16 years ago

I just started playing with needle felting. Is there a pattern for your santa? I wish there was a needle felting class around here. Love it.
    Donna

• dianecrafts
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Donna, no there was no pattern unfortunately. It was kind of a "follow the teacher" class. There were 7 of us in the class and everyone had a totally different looking piece. My girlfriend ended up with a "Mrs. Santa". I hope I can remember enough to do another one. There aren't many classes of any kind around here so we were really excited to find this one. There is a bead shop in town that recently dropped scrapbooking and starting carrying this stuff. I'm not much into beads and jewelery making but we do wander in there every now and then to see what's new, I'm sure glad we did. Anyway I'll be glad to share what I learned if you have any questions I can answer. Lesson ONE....watch out for those needles....they are sharp...I still have a sore finger. LOL

Diane

• donner
    16 years ago

I already learned the needle lesson LOL. So far I have enbellished felted bags with the wool and taught myself how to make balls that can be made into bracelets or necklace. I guess I can look at some books at Hobby Lobby. Maybe they will have something. Maybe I could suggest that they have classes in dry felting at HL. Donna

• dianecrafts
    Original Author
    16 years ago