Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomcin_gw

Scrap leather

tomcin
17 years ago

Newbie here, love this site. I have a lot of scrap leather in different colors and sizes. Does anyone have any ideas on making something with it. My sewing machine will not sew it, probably need a commercial sewing machine. Has anyone seen any sites with leather crafts, wall hangings, unusual stuff on it? I did several searches and found nothing unusual that I thought I could do. I guess I could always sell it on ebay.....

Tomcin

Comments (10)

• toomuchglass
    17 years ago

I also worked at a place that had tons of leather scraps that I could have. I thought "Oh Boy ! A Goldmine!" I Stocked up !! You know - I still haven't found anything to do with them ..... I can't think of one thing !! I'm a poor example of a crafter,huh ? LOL

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    17 years ago

Hi - FWIW, there is a special roller foot or walking foot you can use for machine sewing w/leather.

Also, there are such things as leather needles - which have a sharp triangular point - for both machine and hand sewing. The hand sewing 1s might also be known as 'glovers' needles.

& also FWIW, leather scraps make great ears, tails, shoes etc. for toys, dolls, etc.

HTH

• chrisstitch
    17 years ago

I used leather scraps on my pet screen purses......I covered the end of the strap where it attached to the purse...looked kinda classy........I used a leather needle and a teflon foot and set my machine on heavy......worked good.....fun forum...just found it....Chris

• wcarring
    17 years ago

I use scrap leather to make baby shoes. They are all the rage right now. Are you interested in selling your scraps?

Wendy

• pattico_gw
    15 years ago

I made purse handles out of it.