Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
craftylady_2006

Questions on Decorative Edge Scissors

craftylady-2006
15 years ago

Long post, but thought I'd have to explain it all so you'd understand my dilema. I'm new to this craft.

I am having the darndest time finding good quality decorative edge scissors. Can anyone give me suggestions or their opinion on who, what, where for these scissors. I bought the Provo Craft ones (on sale for $1) a couple years ago and honestly, don't think they're good cutting quality. Course you get what you pay for when you only spend $1. I am using high quality cardstock from Crane & Co. and it's way better quality than what you'd buy at the craft stores. Not sure what weight it is but it's not super thin as a cheap card. It's probably a medium-highweight (28 lb +/-). I put the scissors to the cardstock or even light weight scrapbook paper and some of them get caught on that first part of the scissors. I have to squeeze the scissors open and shut to free it up right there. Then cutting the paper, some of the scissors get caught on the paper and tear it instead of cutting it. I even have had to literally put the paper down on the counter and holding with the scissors still at the last cut I made, push down on the end of the scissors with my other hand to make it cut the full length of the scissors. I got so frustrated with cutting the cardstock and scrapbook paper that I bought a $30 pair of Fiskars pinking shears (on sale for half price of course) just so I could use them on paper. I would never use my good Fiskars fabric pinking shears on paper of any kind.