Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
quiltedstuff

Copyrights and patterns

quiltedstuff
16 years ago

I am new here. I make and sell quilted items at craft shows. I am new to that as well. All of the stuff I have sold in the past I have designed myself.

I just bought a pattern to make tote bags. I was all set to make a few dozen of these when I read at the end of the pattern "This pattern is for personal use only. Items may not be made for sale from this pattern. This pattern is copyright protected."

This is a very simple pattern. I probably could have come up with my own design if I tried.

My question is: What happens now if I do that? Come up with a similar design. I mean there are only so many ways you can make a tote bag. Am I running the risk of infringing on someone's copyright?

Comments (16)

• craftylady-2006
    16 years ago

I think the best thing you can do is to look up copyright laws online and see where you stand. This past summer or so one of the folks in a forum posted a pic of a decoration she made and the person who's original work it was, got wind of the design and came into the forum and downright told her about the copyright infringement.

• kathi_mdgd
    16 years ago

I've been sewing for over 50 years ago and never have had a problem.Someone told me a long time ago to just change one or 2 things in the pattern and make it your own.For example don't copy it exactly,colors they used,choose a different hairstyle if it's a doll,and/or add additional embellishments.

I used to make a lot of rag dolls,from a commercial pattern,and the only thing of theirs i used were the body parts.Everything else i did on my own.
    Kathi

• quiltedstuff
    Original Author
    16 years ago