Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reeny_gw

advice on knives

reeny
13 years ago

looking at kitchen knives and want to know what brands you have had success with - currently looking at wusthof but open to other suggestions. Thanks for your help.

Comments (10)

• sushipup1
    13 years ago

Also check the Cooking Forum. We've been discussing knives there recently.

• reeny
    Original Author
    13 years ago

sushipup - thanks!

• arley_gw
    13 years ago

Here are my opinions. I'm sure other people have their preferences. I'm no expert, but I've done a lot of chopping and peeling and slicing over the years, so here goes:

1. Best value for the dollar goes to Forschner Victorinox. Stainless blades which hold a good edge. You can get them stamped instead of forged (less $) and with a plastic ('fibrox') handle instead of wood (even less $). Cooks Illustrated rated their fibrox handle chef knife ($30) better than models costing five times as much. They also make forged knives as well. They're available online from several merchants including Amazon and KnivesPlus.

2. Best way to keep them sharp: use a steel with every use, and every so often either have them sharpened professionally or do it yourself. I use a paper wheel system from sharpeningmadeeasy.com, and I like it; that web site also lists and reviews other methods and tools for sharpening knives.

3. Best knife storage: I like the MIU magnetic knife holder. It's available in a couple of lengths. See the link.