Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cooks4one

Meat Mallet

cooks4one
18 years ago

This is my first time to post. I'm in the market for a meat mallet (pounder). Was wondering what kind to get. Any suggestions? I once had a wooden mallet but think a metel one would work better.

Thanks, Mary

Comments (16)

• claire_de_luna
    18 years ago

Mary, I have this one. I like it for the offset handle, and it's heavy enough to do a good job. I also have a rubber mallet that works almost as well, that I picked up in the camping department at Wally World...

Here is a link that might be useful: Norpro meat pounder

• cooks4one
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Claire...I was looking at that one at Williams Sonoma's website but wasn't sure how it would work. Are you able to put the Norpro meat pounder in the dishwasher? Thanks, Mary

• claire_de_luna
    18 years ago

Yes, it can go in the dishwasher, which is great. I always put my chicken between two pieces of plastic wrap to pound it, just so there's no ''splattering''...

• HanArt
    18 years ago

I use an OXO.

Here is a link that might be useful: meat mallet

• cooks4one
    Original Author
    18 years ago

It looks like I'll be ordering one. Thanks for your advise.

• brucedelta
    18 years ago

I saw someone use the Norpro meat pounder that Clair recomended of the food network, maybe Emril or Iron Chef Flay. In any case I thought it looked like the right tool and made a mental note to buy one.

• kbuzbee
    18 years ago

Claire de Luna - two questions:

1: It says it's cast iron but it doesn't look like cast iron in that photo??

2: Is it flat on the bottom? I can't tell in that photo (or dimpled or notched or...?

Thanks

Ken

• claire_de_luna
    18 years ago

It's flat on the bottom. The meat pounder is heavy and coated with metal that looks like stainless steel.

• kbuzbee
    18 years ago